Getting in the swing again

I am taking up the Challenge to write a blog post every day for November, as I have rather got out of the blogging habit. So much so, that it feels as if I am learning to use WordPress all over again!

   
 
The pictures are some of the 131 shoe boxes which my congregation have collected for the Blythswood shoebox appeal.

The quilt was there to help us visualise a story I used during the service, as part of the dedication of our shoeboxes.  It is well worth reading here – at the BBC news site, a tale about “the man who kept a quilt for 70 years”.

The quilt in my picture was made by my little sister, as an engagement gift for me and my husband. Although  it is not yet 70 years old, it is wearing well in its 32 year! It usually brightens up an old sofa in our front room. It is something I treasure too, because of all the happy associations  that come with it, and the knowledge that it was made with such love and care when my sister was just 15.

One thought on “Getting in the swing again

  1. so good to hear your voice again – my daughter made me a quilt for my 60th birthday that was comprised of pieces of my mother’s and both grandmothers’ doilies, table cloths, serviettes and pillowcases. it is stunning and I love it. My granddaughter made a quilt as they travelled around Australia in a caravan for a year – the tradition lives on.

Leave a Reply

