Ordinary miracles

Ok, so I have now been signed off work until 13th March! It feels as if Lent is rushing by in a blur of coughing and sleepless nights, so I am hanging on to my Lenten discipline of posting every day. It is giving some much needed focus and structure to my days – days which, at the moment, are completely devoid of either.

On a cheerier note here is a poem for Saturday – The Bright Field by the wonderful RS Thomas.

Here we are reminded how very precious are the moments of our days – all those ordinary every day miracles which so often pass us by as we rush on through our lives.

In Lent we need to slow down and ponder these ordinary miracles – like sunlight on a small field – which give us glimpses of the eternity that awaits us. Ordinary miracles which put into the perspective the regrets of the past and the pressures of the future.

I have seen the sun break through
to illuminate a small field
for a while, and gone my way
and forgotten it. But that was the pearl
of great price, the one field that had
treasure in it. I realize now
that I must give all that I have
to possess it. Life is not hurrying

on to a receeding future, nor hankering after
an imagined past. It is the turning
aside like Moses to the miracle
of the lit bush, to a brightness
that seemed as transitory as your youth
once, but is the eternity that awaits you.

Picture is ‘frosty morning’ by Jonny Baker on Flickr

One thought on “Ordinary miracles

  1. Look after yourself and if there is anything I can do for you please just let me know! And Keep focussing on the everyday miracles.

Leave a Reply

