…there is no rush

The theology of progress forces us to act before we are ready. We speak before we know what to say. We respond before we feel the truth of what we know… 

There is no rush to get to the end, because we are never finished.

Take time to rest, and eat, and drink, and be refreshed.

(Wayne Muller found on inward/outward)

This challenged me today on a number of levels.

The past week has been filled with the unexpected and I felt compelled to respond before I was ready. Only time will tell if the decisions I made were the right ones.

Also I am always in a hurry, so impatient to move forward and to tick things off my ‘to do list’ as soon as possible. So I was challenged by the last part of this reflection, particularly as it closely mirrored some advice I was given at the weekend.

There is no rush to get to the end, because we are never finished.

Why am I impatient, in a hurry to get to the end? There is always going to be work to do! So this week I am taking a deep breath and I am finding those moments for rest, reflection and peace.

Picture is ‘M3 South Bound’ bMike Lockie on Flickr

Leave a Reply

