perspective is good…

You are 1 person out of 7 billion people
On 1 planet out of 8 planets
In 1 star system out of 100 billion star systems
In 1 galaxy out of 100 billion galaxies
And you are enormously insignificant.”

(unknown)

Found this on Cheryl’s blog­ and it made me smile as did her comment – “I find such relief in being dispensable. it makes me work and live and love much better”.

Amen to that… especially on a Friday when I haven’t done all the things I meant to!

Picture is ‘Ardrossan Beach’ by Mike Lockie on Flickr

3 thoughts on “perspective is good…

  1. My first thoughts on reading this was that it was a shortened version of Monty Python’s Galaxy Song. I liked it more when we hadnine planets. I’m still unhappy that Pluto was downgraded. 😦

  2. I could turn this on its head, though.
    Of all the millions galaxies in this universe, only ours is known to hold life.

    Of all the solar systems in our galaxy, only ours contains life.

    Of all the planets in our solar system, only ours contains life.

    The more I learn of how “Goldilocks” our planet is, it is just so amazing life ever got started at all (thanks, God).

    Of 7 billion people on the planet, you are uniquely loved by God.

    Of 7 billion people on Earth, there is a gift of love for the world only you can give. No one else can.

    That’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

