Open…

A lovely prayer for Saturday… for those times when we feel overwhelmed and long for things to change… for those days when we are discontented… restless… doubting or in despair.

This prayer is a reminder that it is ok -even healthy – to feel these emotions if we can also trust in God for what lies ahead…because the times when we are at our lowest ebb can also be the times of growth and change… times when God’s Spirit moves and opens a different door.

Lord, help me now to unclutter my life,
to organize myself in the direction of simplicity.
Lord, teach me to listen to my heart;
teach me to welcome change, instead of fearing it.
Lord, I give You these stirrings inside me,
I give you my discontent,
I give you my restlessness,
I give you my doubt,
I give you my despair,
I give you all the longings I hold inside.
Help me to listen to these signs of change, of growth;
to listen seriously and follow where they lead
through the breathtaking empty space of an open door.

(Celtic Daily Prayer)

Picture is ‘open’ by Jonny Baker on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

