Back to blogging as I am… I was reminded of this quotation:

“Please pray for me to Our Lord that, instead of merely writing something, I may be something, and indeed that I may so fully be what I ought to be that there may be no further necessity for me to write, since the mere fact of being what I ought to be would be more eloquent than many books.”

(Thomas Merton, ‘Letter to Etienne Gilson’)

Mmmm quite profound really! If we were the people God wants us to be then there would be no need to write (or blog) (or preach) anything as our very being would speak volumes.

On reflection I suspect I will have to carry on writing… blogging… preaching !

Leave a Reply

