On risk taking (2)…

Following on from yesterday’s quote… I was reminded of this poem by Dawna Markova:

I will not die an unlived life.
I will not go in fear
Of falling or catching fire.
I choose to inhabit my days,
To allow my living to open to me,
To make me less afraid,
More accessible,
To loosen my heart
Until it becomes a wing,
A torch, a promise.
I choose to risk my significance:
To live.
So that which came to me as seed,
Goes to the next as blossom;
And that which came to me as blossom,
Goes on as fruit.

I was given a copy of this poem by a friend who was a hospital chaplain the day I told him I was starting the selection process for ministry. I shared this ‘news’ with very few people, partly because I was scared (of what you may ask? Well mainly their reactions, what they might think, and mainly of failure.). This friend lives a distance away so I considered it ‘safe’ to tell him!

At the beginning of the ministry selection process, I was really uptight and I had lots of fears and I confided some of those fears to him as we chatted in his office. Later that day he emailed me this poem.

There is something very hopeful in Markova’s words… letting go of fear, living a life open to possibilities (open to God) and accessible to others.

Reading it again I know I am still called to take risks for God… to step beyond my comfort zone… so that seeds become blossom and blossom becomes fruit.

Any one life can have significance if lived for God and shared with other people.

I do not want to die an unlived life.

Picture is ‘a feather on the breath of God’ by Jonny Baker on Flickr

2 thoughts on “On risk taking (2)…

  1. Your smile in your photograph says that you are living life according to the poem. It is a beautiful thought not to die with the thought of not living life to the full. Every Blessing

  2. I know exactly what you mean about telling very few people about starting the selection process for ministry. There was a combination of what am I doing, what will people think and fear of failure. Now, I am glad I took the risk, walking with God is amazing – though terrifying too.

Leave a Reply

